The Liturgical Year by Joan Chittister

  I received this book to review and found it to be rather interesting.  It discusses following the liturgical year and how it helps us to develop a deeper relationship with Christ and an understanding of the feasts and their importance.  Though I did enjoy the read, it was not exactly what I had in mind.  I was hoping for a bit more depth than what the book goes into. I was looking for more historical significance and instead felt as if the author just kept saying the same things only in different words.

The book does discusses Easter, Christmas, Lent, Holy Week to name a few of the celebrations.  I do wonder if I got as much from the book or did not get as much from the book having a Catholic background vs. someone without any knowledge of Catholicism.

Overall I did enjoy the book.  I would recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about the liturgical year and it’s celebrations.  It was an easy and enjoyable read.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

4 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

4 responses to “The Liturgical Year by Joan Chittister

  1. I usually get bored easily and close the tab but i think you can add some value. Cheers !

  2. Most of the times i visit a blog i get disappointed.On the other hand,I could honestly say that you writting is decent and your website solid.

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  4. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

Leave a Reply

