Willing to take you out of your comfort zone

This past year in the various bible studies I have done, it seems as if there has been an underlying theme.  God will take you out of your comfort zone at times to use you.

I have thought about that a bit the past few months.  I think of how cautious I tend to be on my family blog, so as not to step on the toes of those who I know who read and who don’t believe.  They are friends and family members that I want to enjoy my family thru the blog, but I always have them in mind and tend to tread lightly when I think I want to mention my faith.  I am so anti being politically correct, and yet there I am on MY blog trying not to cross lines.

Not to long ago I was studying something that I got really excited about.  The problem with doing your studies on-line is there is no class to feed off of, so Jeff and Kennedy get the benefit of my new-found knowledge. (For those who may not know, I am working on my Masters of Biblical Archeology). Anyway, I went into the den where Jeff was and started sharing with him.  I hit a point where I was talking something theological and it seemed as if he was getting uncomfortable. I started to back off of what I was sharing and go to something “lighter” to talk about.

Now, my husband is a believer, and I think it was the middle of a game, but how often do we start to share our faith with someone when they start to get that look of uneasiness and we change the subject?  I know I have, just so as not to step on their toes or make them feel uncomfortable. I have recently decided that I am willing to take people out of their comfort zone.  Paul shared with the Romans the following: How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? (Romans 10:14).  And now I think, what kind of disciple am I if I am not willing to take those that I love and care about outside of their comfort zone and into mine?  I do believe that we can share Jesus thru our lives without preaching, but I am also talking about not shying away from mentioning my faith in a blog, not cutting short a thought because someone seems uncomfortable, not wanting to offend someone because of what I believe.

I believe that God calls us to come out of our comfort zone.  I believe that He will equip you for anything that He calls you to do, in or out of your comfort zone.  I also believe that we need to call some people out of their comfort zone by proclaiming our faith in Jesus and not be “politically correct.” I’m not looking to get into an argument or start some big theological debate ~ but I am willing to bring you out of your comfort zone rather than deny my faith.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Willing to take you out of your comfort zone

  1. Patsy Allen

    I think you are absolutely right. I think we are so afraid of stepping on toes that we forget what is really important. I applaud you for what you are doing and I thank you for sharing.
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

